Panopticon - The Scars of Man on the Once Nameless Wilderness PT I 2LP

Panopticon - The Scars of Man on the Once Nameless Wilderness PT I 2LP

Regular price $ 29.00

Part I LP details:
- Double colored vinyl, green mixed with blue
- Gatefold jacket, reverse board print
Printed inner sleeves, reverse board print

“The Scars of Man on the Once Nameless Wilderness” is a two part album that musically explores the two separate musical sides of Panopticon. Part I harkens back to melodic Black and Death Metal influences and the second double LP focuses entirely on Americana, Folk and Country music from North America.

The lyrical concept of the album deals with two sides of the same coin: the effects of our natural environment on quality of life and mental health and the effects of urban life and industry on our quality of life and mental health. The album is largely inspired by some of Sigurd Olson’s writing and also inspired by the struggle to preserve Minnesota’s northwoods.  This album, Part 1 of the 2 part album, is entirely focused on exploring melodic, aggressive and atmospheric metal with lyrics about time spent in nature, questions and fears about the consequences of environmental destruction and seeking inspiration in the woods. 

Part 2 takes a more somber, lonesome tone, lyrically focusing on the consequences of urban life, industry, global warming and environmental detriment. Part 2 is absolutely NOT a metal record and those who are disinterested in folk, americana and country music might not favor it. 

Clocking in at about 2 hours, this collection is intended to be heard as a body of work, but as always thats up to the listener to decide.  

PT 1 Tracklist:
1. Watch the Lights Fade
2. En Hvit Ravns Død 
3. Blåtimen    
4. Sheep in Wolves Clothing 
5. A Ridge Where the Tall Pines Once Stood   
6. En Generell Avsky 
7. The Singing Wilderness 
8. Snow Burdened Branches  

For our European customers, order this title direct from our Brothers at Nordvis Production here:

More from this collection